Wonderland

Growing up I’ve always loved 2 things: 1. everything Disney and 2. books, books, and more books.
And when you put the two things together you get great things that end up being even better.

I’ve always loved to read those types of books that Disney brought to life, my two favorites being Peter Pan and Alice in Wonderland. Now I’ve done cakes with peter pan before but I haven’t gotten the chance to do Alice in Wonderland and so I wanted to give it a try. The images that I really wanted to use are from the classic book, not Disney. There’s just something there with the classic images that I love about them.

Now for this cake I was wanting to go towards something fruity, so I did a lemon cake. A few years ago I planted a raspberry bush in my family’s front yard, so every year we get an abundance of fresh raspberries and one of the best way to get rid of all of them is to make them in to jam! So before I baked the cake I just put some of the homemade raspberry jam into a plastic bag, snipped off a corner and piped in some jam swirls and then baked the cake. It came out tasting so good, although it was a little difficult cutting the squares out. (I really need to invest in some square cake pans.)
Overall this cake came out super cute and tasting nice and summery and I couldn’t be happier about it!

Leave a Reply

