Lemons + Blueberries

A lot of things goes with lemons. And one of my favorite things to go with them is… blueberries. This combination is really delicious and during the summer months it’s one of my go-to flavors. My favorite thing to make with this combo is cupcakes. It just happens to be one of my sisters as well because she’s the one who wouldn’t stop bugging me about making them for the 4th of July. So of course I couldn’t say no and ended up making them.

I changed it up this time around though. Mainly the frosting is the thing that changed. I usually just do a plain cream cheese icing but I wanted to try something a little different. I had quite a bit of the blueberry filling left over so I pureed it and added it into the frosting. Now the frosting recipe I made made a ton. So when it comes to making the frosting just use your favorite recipe.
These cupcakes are so good that I just eat them with my hands (I normally eat cupcakes with a fork) and I could care less about the gooey mess from the icing and filling. Happy 4th of July! And don’t forget to eat a cupcake!
                                                                                                                                                                   
Lemon + Blueberry Cupcakes
Lemon Cupcakes (via Linda Lomelino at Call Me Cupcake)
• 3 3/4 cups flour 
• 1/2 tablespoon baking powder 
• 1 stick unsalted butter 
• 2.5 cup sugar 
• 2 large eggs 
• 1.5 cups milk 
• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 
• 1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice 
• Zest of 1 lemon 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the flour and baking powder in a bowl. Line a muffin
pan with muffin molds. Beat the room-temperature butter and sugar until fluffy in another bowl.Add the eggs and whisk until the batter is fluffy. Add the vanilla extract. Then add the flour mixture, milk, lemon zest and lemon juice. Whisk gently until everything is well mixed. Fill the molds to about 3/4. Bake for about 25 minutes.

Blueberry Filling
  • 1 bag frozen blueberries, thawed
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch

Strain the blueberry juice from the thawed blueberries into a liquid measuring cup and add enough water to measure out 1 1/4 cups. Place the liquid, sugar, lemon juice, and cornstarch into a pot and bring to a boil until it thickens. Once the mixture is thickened turn off the heat and add the blueberries. Let cool completely before use


To Assemble




Cut out a little hole in the center of each cupcake. Hollow it out a little bit more, taking out the crumbs. Fill with a tablespoon of the filling and top with the cupcake topper. Make your favorite cream cheese icing and frost the cupcakes. Eat and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

