Sunflowers

I absolutely love sunflowers! There’s just something about them that makes the day just a little bit brighter when you see one. Living in North Dakota and being a daughter of a farmer, I see quite a few fields with sunflowers during the summer months and just can’t help but look at them.

I originally saw this cake on Pinterest and I immediately fell in love with it and wanted to attempt to do one myself. The first priority was to find the perfect images of sunflower drawings to make it happen. (Like I said before, I am not a good free hand artist. I’m absolutely dreadful at it.)

I ended up making a peanut butter simple syrup. I know, it sounds weird and you’re probably thinking that that wouldn’t work out at all. Honestly it turned out not bad at all and added more peanut flavor to the cake and added more moisture. To even add more flavor to the cake I wanted to go for a chocolate ganache frosting. Originally I wanted to use milk chocolate, but since I didn’t have enough of that so I used white chocolate instead. And the results were amazing!!!! The cake with the white chocolate frosting tasted like a candy a candy bar! It wasn’t too sweet or too salty either. It was perfect and I will definitely be making this cake again very soon!
                                                                                                                                                                   


Peanut Butter Simple Syrup
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
2/3 cup creamy PB

Put the sugar and water into a pot and on the stove at medium-high heat to dissolve the sugar. Add the PB and let simmer for about 10-15 minutes. Stir continuously until it all comes together. (It might look a little curdled but it will thicken up after a while.) Put into a bowl and let cool.  

Leave a Reply

