Poached Peaches & Crepes

When I was a little kid my sister and I would spend the night at our aunt and uncle’s house pretty much every single weekend. Our cousins, sister, and I would play all kinds of different games and get into trouble, but my most favorite part was breakfast. Usually on Saturday or Sunday mornings they would make either pancakes or my favorite. Crepes!!
Crepes are a yummy breakfast that my sweet tooth and I could not get enough of. These crepes we would have weren’t the fruitsy kind either that you usually see with the fancy fillings and the whole sha-bang. Instead we just slathered on the butter and dumped a crap load of powered sugar on top and rolled them up to make a delicious buttery, sugary crepe burrito. Not gonna lie, but this is my favorite way to eat crepes. I’ll still eat them every now and then with all the fruit and fillings and all of that but this way is my definite favorite. Today though I’m spicing the crepe up by making a fruity and spice filled crepe cake!
I wanted this crepe cake to be filled with all kinds of yummy-ness so I bought raspberries, strawberries, and peaches. Unfortunately the peaches weren’t rip enough to use and I so badly wanted to make this dessert as soon as possible. So I kicked it up a notch and got a little creative to make the peaches more edible by poaching them. I’m so glad that I did poach them too, because it added in some flavors into this cake that originally wouldn’t have been there.
To assemble the cake I made a cream cheese filling and cut up the fruit. The crepe batter made about 12 crepes, depending on how big you make them. I layered them by starting with one crepe, filling, crepe, filling, fruit, repeat. When it came to a fruit layer I started with strawberries, peaches, and then raspberries and got 2 layers of each. To finish it off I added a small dollop of the filling on top so the fruit wouldn’t fall off, added a sprinkling of powdered sugar and used the poaching liquid as a sauce. And it was so delicious!!! Make this crepe cake and you’ll be glad you did! I promise!
_________________________________________________________________________________
Crepe Cake

Poached Peaches
3 unripe peaches
1 bottle of white wine
4 cups water
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp salt
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
3-4 tbsp corn starch
Peel the peaches and then put all of the ingredients into a pot. Put on the stove-top on high, stir to dissolve the sugar, and let boil for about 20-30 minutes or until the peaches are soft. You can test the peaches by poking them with the tip of a paring knife for doneness. Remove the peaches and put into a separate bowl. Take about 1/2 cup of the liquid into a separate bowl and add the cornstarch to make a slurry. Meanwhile put the pot with the rest of the liquid on the stove on high to reduce about half of the liquid or to your liking. Once it reduces add the slurry and let boil until thickened. Take off of the heat and let cool.
Crepes
1 cup flour
1/2 cup powdered sugar
3 eggs
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
In a bowl whisk together the flour and powdered sugar. In a separate bowl mix the milk, eggs and vanilla until well combined. Gradually add the liquid mixture into the dry mixture and whisk until well combined and there are no bumps. Put the griddle on about 350*F and take a 1/4 cup and pour batter on the griddle. Spread the batter around by picking the griddle up and moving it at an angle in a circular motion. Let cook until the edges are golden brown and flip over and cook until the other side is golden brown on the edges. 
Cream Cheese Filling
2 8oz blocks of cream cheese
2 cups powdered sugar
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
In an electric mixer beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add in the powdered sugar and mix until combined. Add in the zest and juice of the lemon.

Leave a Reply

