Flower Garden

Flowers are always something that cheers me up. I love gardening and to just looking at the prettiness that just flows from them, how soft the petals are, and mostly by the scent that they give. Every flower is unique in its own way, just as we are. The pretty colors, how tall they grow, and overall the variety of flowers that are out there.

Β To make these cookies I just used the same recipe that I used for the Harry Potter cookies. I cut the dough using a square stencil that I made from a paper plate and then used a pizza cutter to cut them out.Β 

To get the base for decorating these cookies I just used some leftover frosting that I had on hand from a previous cake and spread it on each cookie generously. Then I used another square stencil (a newer one, can’t use the same one that touched raw cookie dough) to cut out some fondant that I rolled out. After I cut the fondant out, I put one on each cookie and smoothed it out so it sit nice and flat with no air pockets or bumps. If some frosting pokes out I just scraped it off with a small offset spatula. Then I let it sit for a few hours to let the fondant harden just a bit. I do this so it’s easier to paint the design on the cookie, if the fondant is soft sometimes it can sink in which is something that I don’t want to happen.

To get the flowers onto the cake I just printed out some pictures of the flowers that I liked and cut them out. Then I carefully placed a picture onto a cookie and gently traced around the edges with a paint brush with black food coloring mixed with a very tiny drop of water. If there are other parts that need to be traced, I just cut out the outer parts of the picture bit by bit and place the picture back on the cookie and continue tracing. This process can be time consuming, so if you have the artistic ability or a better way to get the image on the cookie then go for it (I still have a better way to do it, but I’m waiting for the right time to share with you, this is just another method that I use when my main method isn’t available to me.)

Leave a Reply

