Harvest

Well it’s that time of year where the wheat fields are ready to be harvested. This is that time where my dad requests me to make a ton of cookies for him to eat while he’s in the combine all day. Cookies make it easier rather than a piece of cake or something, plus I think he has an addiction to cookies.

For the past week there have been countless trucks driving by the house causing the dirt to stir in the air. I’ve been employed to give my dad and grandpa rides to and from different fields and to also deliver them a liquid brew every so often. 
So when it comes to making the cookies my dad likes the basics. Peanut butter, chocolate chip, and oatmeal with the added taste factors (PB and chocolate chips). I wouldn’t even be surprised if I was asked to make more cookies in the next two weeks before I leave for school so they have some when it comes time to harvest the beans.

_________________________________________________________________________________
Peanut Butter Cookies (via The Cookie Bible)
2 sticks unsalted butter
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Cream the butter, peanut butter and the sugars until fluffy. Add in the eggs. In a separate bowl combine the dry ingredients. Gradually add in the dry mixture until all combined. Refrigerate for about an hour. Preheat oven to 375*F. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and use a fork to make a crisscross pattern on top. Bake for about 10 minutes or until they begin to brown.

NOTE: I ran out of eggs when I was making these so instead I just added in a 1/4 cup of milk and the cookies came out perfectly.
NOTE: I don’t refrigerate the dough, instead I just dive right in and roll it into balls and bake.
NOTE: I always have a bowl of sugar when I roll the dough into balls. I take the each ball of dough, roll it into the sugar, use the fork for the crisscross pattern, and finally sprinkle a little more sugar right on top.

Leave a Reply

